In college we looked forward to the Iowa/Iowa State game like Christmas. Even for people like me who didn’t follow sports, who couldn’t care less about most games, this weekend was huge. The calendar cleared. We made elaborate plans. Stocked the fridge or cooler or trunk with beer. We accept the fact that our cell phones wouldn’t work because the entire state would descend on Iowa City or Ames.

This rivalry defines Iowa.

When I was deployed I even drew a tiger hawk on one of my magazines – for luck and love:

hawk-mag

My plans aren’t as centralized since I’ve left Iowa – I don’t follow the game as closely – but the game still calls to me. I can’t help but check the score. Check the shit talking on facebook. It makes me feel like I’m part of something bigger. I am an Iowan.

Go Hawks.

