Kids around the office mentioned the movie, Pain and Gain, a couple of times last week. It’s been a while since I watched a good action movie and the wife is out of town so what the hell. Sign me up.

paingain

If you haven’t heard the movie is based on a true story. A trio of body builders – played by Mark Walberg, Duane “The Rock” Johnson, and Anthony Mackie – kidnap an asshole millionaire and coerce him to sign over all of his money and property. One quote from the movie sums it up pretty well, “I don’t just want everything you have, I want you not to have it.”

As you might imagine, it didn’t end well.

The movie was good. Simple as that. I laughed and I wanted to know happened next. There were some great shots and the colors – as you can expect with a good action movie – were brighter. Most importantly, I cared about the characters. That’s not something I can say about all of the movies I’ve watched in the last year.

Pain and Gain isn’t going to win any Oscars. Most action movies won’t but we can escape into them. I can believe that Mark Walhberg is a bodybuilder who just wants to mow his lawn and sometimes – after a week of work and noisy neighbors and life – a person just needs some bright colors and decent music.

