Since we moved, I haven’t been as faithful to the gym as I’d like to be. On a good week I’ll get there twice. That’s ok, I tell myself, we’re still getting settled. Giving your body a rest is good and natural. While that may be true I’m just being lazy (and perhaps feeling a little of the winter blues).

But I do get there once in a while and last night I showed up to see this workout posted:

20 Minutes on the Minute
Evens: 40 seconds max Double-Unders
Odds: 30 seconds max Hang Squat Cleans (53lbs for me)

Great I thought, ten rounds of jumping rope. For the life of me I haven’t been able to do a double under. I can’t get my mind around it. When should I jump? When do I move the rope faster? Should I jump higher? What am I supposed to be doing with my hands? So I mostly stopped trying when double-unders are part of a WOD. For some reason, last night, I decided to try and get my head out of it. Guess what? It worked. Fuck yeah it did. I did 14 double-unders in two minutes.

It’s those little unexpected accomplishments that make crossfit awesome.

