Sabrina Chap, my girlfriend’s  friend and amazing burlesque singer, came to Minneapolis this weekend and played a low-key backyard concert. We arrived just as the acoustic trio Hummingbirds were finishing. The whole setup was so goddamn sweet I’m bummed we didn’t arrive earlier.

Some of Sabrina’s stuff can be a little bawdy, a little political but that girl can work a crowd. People hooted. Couples cuddled. Even the baby in attendance loved it, dancing atop his father’s shoulders. As the end of her set neared, Sabrina wanted to play a Liz Phair song for my dear girl but didn’t remember all the lyrics. Fear not! Minnesota nice came through. Lynn O’Brien of the Hummingbirds held the lyrics of Fuck and Run AND harmonized a bit.

The sweetness grows.

I don’t go to many shows – social anxiety, party-pooperness, whatever – but this might make me change my tune. This crowd of people didn’t exude the usual selfishness of concert goers. I felt only love. So much love I would have thought someone slipped something into my beer if I wasn’t clutching the six-pack of Oberon under my knees for easy access.

Oh Minneapolis, I love you when you’re not steeling my stuff.

