Cutting For Stone is a beast of a novel. Don’t let the size intimidate you. This is one of the most elegant, engaging books I’ve read in quite a while. Our narrator is an Ethiopian-born surgeon looking back on his life and the life of his family. There is medical intrigue and heartache and innate-spirituality and childish wonder and, damnit, DON’T let the size scare you. Dive into this book and let it swallow your brain.

I ate through the first half of the book with a hunger I usually reserve for cute poodle pictures, Mad Men and True Blood. The prose is at once lush and simplistic. As the weight shifted in my hands I couldn’t help but slow down. I didn’t want to leave these characters. At last today – after the panic of my job interview faded – I finished the book. The interview went fine, I think, I’ll know in a few weeks. And the book? The book ended. I won’t give anything away but I was right, I miss my friends already.

