Minor hand surgery yesterday means no crossfit today, lots of poor-you looks from the girlfriend and the poodle, and an excess of time to druggedly watch movies. Yeah, my life is hard.

A few weeks ago we saw Your Sister’s Sister in the theater.

Last night we rented Jeff Who Lives at Home from Redbox.

You should see them. For reals, they are good and unexpectedly lovely. Duplass wrote and directed Jeff Who Lives at Home (with his brother Jay) and started in Your Sister’s Sister. The man has an eye for a good story. Both movies are built like really well-crafted short stories. Not much time passes. Nothing explodes or creates a national emergency. The characters are multifaceted which seems to be exceedingly rare these days. No one, not even the so called heroes of these tales, is perfect. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not above the occasional action flick or blockbuster but these movies have a special place in my heart.

While I whine about the tiny incision on my pinkie finger I need proof that other people are flawed too. Mark Duplass has given that to me, twice. Thanks, Mark.

